This article describes how to move a Cloud Server to a different User-Manageable Cluster.

Note: This function is available only in locations with User-Manageable Clusters available. For more details, see Introduction to User-Manageable Clusters.

Prerequisites:

  1. Only the Primary Administrator or a User with the Server role can move a Server between User-Manageable Clusters
  2. Cloud Server is in an MCP 2.0 data center
  3. Data Center Location is not in maintenance
  4. Cloud Server is in a Stopped state without any other actions pending
  5. Cloud Server is in a data center location with User-Manageable Clusters
  6. Target Cluster to which Cloud Server is being moved supports the configuration of the Cloud Server in terms of:
    1. Number of vCPU
    2. Amount of RAM
    3. CPU Speed
    4. Disk Speed
  7. The system enforces the Minimum Disk Count, Maximum Disk Count, and Maximum Total Storage properties in the Target cluster when taking Disks on IDE/SATA/ISO/FLP controllers into account.
    1. IDE and SATA local disks count towards ALL of these values
    2. ISO and FLP do NOT count towards Minimum Disk Count or Maximum Disk Count
    3. ISO and FLP DO count towards Maximum Total Storage
  8. Moving Cloud Servers to a different cluster is blocked if the Cloud Server is a Target Server in a DRS Consistency Group.

  9. You cannot move a Server between Clusters if the Server is in Snapshot Preview. You must first migrate the Snapshot Preview Server to a Normal Server. See Introduction to Cloud Server Snapshot Feature

  10. The target Cluster to which Cloud Server is being moved must support the configuration of the Cloud Server in terms of:
    1. Number of CPU
    2. CPU Speed
    3. Amount of RAM
    4. Disk Speed
    5. Disks meet Target cluster's Minimum Disk Count, Maximum Disk Count and Maximum Total Storage (GB)
  11. If the Server has Advanced Virtualization Settings:
    1. If Nested Hardware Virtualization is set to True, then the Target Cluster must be enabled to support Advanced Virtualization Settings. See How do I Identify Hardware Specifications and Capabilities Available in a Data Center Location
    2. If CPU Latency Sensitivity is set to true, then the Target Cluster must be enabled to support Advanced Virtualization Settings. See How do I Identify Hardware Specifications and Capabilities Available in a Data Center Location
    3. If Numa Autosize is set to true, then the Target Cluster must be enabled to support Advanced Virtualization Settings. See How do I Identify Hardware Specifications and Capabilities Available in a Data Center Location
    4. If Enable Host Info to VM Tools is set to true, then the Target Cluster must be enabled to support Advanced Virtualization Settings. See How do I Identify Hardware Specifications and Capabilities Available in a Data Center Location
      1. For more information on Advanced Virtualization Settings, see Introduction to Advanced Virtualization Settings

Content / Solution:

  1. From the Home page, select the Data Center where the Cloud Server you want to manage is located:

     

  2. The Data Center dashboard will be displayed. Select the Network Domain where the Cloud Server you want to manage is located:


  3. The Network Domain dashboard will be displayed. Click on the Server tab to expand the list of Servers:
     

  4. Identify the Server that you want to move to a different Cluster. Click on the Manage gear of the Server you want to move, and select Move to Another Cluster from the drop-down menu:


  5. The Move Server to Another Cluster dialog will be displayed:


  6. Select the New Cluster from the Destination Cluster drop-down menu, then click Move:
     

    Note: If the Server is part of an Anti-Affinity Rule, the Anti-Affinity rule no longer applies since the servers will be on separate clusters, so the below message will be displayed in the dialog:

     
  7. The system will display a message indicating that the operation is in progress:

     

  8. The system will display the progress in the Server bar:

     

  9. Once complete, the Servers tab will be updated to reflect the change:


  10. The system will display a success message:
     


Content by Label Macro. Related articles appear here based on the labels you select. Click to edit the macro and add or change labels.


Related issues