This article describes the method to conduct an "Out of Place" full system restore from a File System Backup Client. An "out of place" full system restore takes a previous backup from one Cloud Server (the "source") and restores the entire file system (including OS and registry settings) to a different Cloud Server (the "target"). Any files with matching names and paths on the target Cloud Server will be overwritten server with the version of the files from the source sever's backup at the requested backup date.

NOTE - An out of place restore is typically initiated when you are testing various restore points that are available, in order to verify the best restore point for your circumstance.

Prerequisites:

  1. This guide assumes that the Backup service has been enabled on the Server, that the File System Backup Client has been installed on the Server and that at least one Backup exists. For details see
     Cloud Backup - Introduction 
  2. Full System Restores should be approached with the utmost care. Files with matching names and paths on the target server will be overwritten with the version of the files from the requested backup of the source Cloud Server at the identified backup date.
  3. The source Cloud Server is the server from which you are initiating the restore and from which the backup data will be obtained. This source server must be in a stopped state at the time the backup is requested. In addition, it must be enabled with either the Advanced or Enterprise service plan (and have been enabled as such at the time of the requested backup). Full system restores are not available with the Essentials plan.
  4. The target Cloud Server must also be enabled with either the Advanced or Enterprise service plan. Full system restores are not available with the Essentials plan. 
  5. The target CloudSeveralso must already be deployed with a compatible Operating System, with the Backup service enabled and the same type of File System Backup Client installed ("Windows File Agent" or "Linux File Agent") and visible as "Active"
  6. The target Cloud Server must have enough space to accept the full system restore being requested. Failure to have enough space available so may result in an incomplete system restore.

  7. On Linux system, after Restore completion, the IP address will remain the same on the target server as we don’t overwrite the target server’s IP address. 

  8. On Windows system, after you reboot, you will need to use the new console access in CaaS to re-IP.

  9. Windows operating system must be installed on the same directory as that of the original computer; otherwise, full system restores will not work

  10. Install the required service packs and hotfixes on the destination computer matching to the source. If you have any other software i.e SQL server you might need to match the service pack and SQL configuration same as the source server. Failed to maintain this would lead the restore job to fail. However, Do not install IIS Services. These services will be restored automatically during the restore.

  11. Make sure the disks drives can accommodate the quantity of data being restored. Please note that during the restore, the target machine page file might increase in the operating system drive which may lead to low disk space and the restore job might go to pending state. So it is recommended to have extra space in OS drive.  

  12. Once the restore process completed, the job status shows "pending" at 99% in the UI. You need to restart the server in order to complete the restore process.

Content / Solution:

  1. On the Cloud Backup Menu, Select the "Cloud Backup Servers":


  2. Expand the right service option(Cloud/Managed Hosting/On Premise):




  3. Click the right server name to get to the server page and expand Backup, and click on the "+" on the Right hand side:


  4. Once expanded select "Restore" option from the drop down menu(cog icon) from the right hand side corner on the Agents itself. Perform this task for the Backup agent that you want to do the restore for:
     



  5. The system displays the "Server Restore" page now:

     
  6. Please choose the appropriate option as described below:

  7. Select "Restore" once you have gone through the notes above in Red(Above the Restore/cancel buttons):


  8. Once you have selected the restore you will see a confirmation popup on the bottom RH corner as shown below:


  9. Status of the job can be seen under the respective agent as shown below:


    Note: The status shown on the page does not change automatically. You need to refresh the page using the refresh icon above the setting icon to know the latest status of the job. In case if the job goes to the pending state, it automatically resumes within 20 mins from the backend. If you still see the job in pending state after 20 mins, you might need to engage support team. You might have to wait for some time if the job status shows waiting as the jobs might be in the queue to start the restore process.


  10. The job shows pending state at 99% which means the restore is completed and you need to restart the server in order to complete the restore process. The server might take some time to boot. Please monitor through the console. Once the server is up, we recommend connecting to the target Server to ensure that you have restored to the correct point in time

Related articles appear here based on the labels you select. Click to edit the macro and add or change labels.

Related issues