Create Content

Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.
Comment: added note


Info
titleDescription

This article documents the changes that are applied to a server when it is added to a Consistency Group as a Target Server

Note: Only Primary Administrators, or sub-administrators who have been assigned the DRS Role can Manage DRS, or view the DRS menu. See How to Manage the Primary Administrator User and other Sub-Administrators as the Primary Administrator

Content / Solution:

When a Target Server is added to a Consistency Group, most server management functions on that server are disabled.  The purpose of this action is to preserve the ability of DRS for Cloud to apply the requisite DRS snapshot during a preview or failover event.  The server will only be 'unlocked' when the Consistency Group is deleted either through an explicit delete or through a failover (which deletes the Consistency Group as the final step in the process).

The following functions are prohibited for any Target Server within a Consistency Group:

  • Delete Server
  • Start Server
  • Shutdown Server
  • Reboot Server
  • Reset Server
  • Power Off Server
  • Reconfigure Server
  • Add Disk
  • Remove Disk
  • Update VMware Tools
  • Upgrade Server Virtual Hardware
  • Add NIC
  • Remove NIC
  • Notify System of NIC IP Address Change
  • Change Server Disk Size
  • Clone Server to Create Client Image
  • Change Server Disk Speed

Important Note: Although the majority of server management functions are restricted, a subset of these functions are still allowed.  For instance, you can still edit server metadata (e.g. name and description) and console into the server to manage it locally.

Content by Label
true
showLabelsfalse
max5
showSpacefalse
sortmodified
showSpacereversefalsetrue
titleRecently Updatedreverse
cqllabel = "drs"
labelsdrs

Page properties
hiddentrue


Related issues