This article describes how to delete a Cloud Server from a Network (MCP 1.0) or a Network Domain (MCP 2.0).
Note that the process is identical between MCP 1.0 and MCP 2.0 Data Center locations, but the options presented may differ slightly by MCP type.
Note there are several methods to delete a Cloud Server. This tutorial explains only one method. Note that the prerequisites listed below apply to all methods for deleting a Cloud Server.
This action CAN NOT be reversed. Be sure you have selected the correct Server before completing this task!
- Only the Primary Administrator or a Sub-Admin with the Server role can delete a Cloud Server
- Cloud Servers must be in a Stopped state in order to be deleted. See How to Manage a Cloud Server
- The Cloud Server must not be associated with a Server Anti-Affinity Rule in order to be deleted. See How to Manage Server Anti-Affinity
- The Cloud Server must not have Backup enabled in order to be deleted. See How to View and Manage the Backup Service for a Cloud Server
- The Cloud Server must not have Monitoring enabled in order to be deleted. See How to Disable Cloud Monitoring for a Server
- The Cloud Server must not be associated with Consistency Group in order to be deleted. See How to Delete a Consistency Group
- You cannot delete a Server if the Cloud Server Snapshot Feature is enabled. See How to Disable Cloud Server Snapshots on a Server
- Note: You can delete a Server that is in Snapshot Preview mode. There is no change to the process.
Content / Solution:
From the Home page, select the Data Center where the Network Domain on which the Cloud Server you want to delete is located:
The Data Center Dashboard will be displayed. Select the Network (MCP 1.0) or Network Domain (MCP 2.0) where the Cloud Server you want to delete is located:
The Network Domain Dashboard will be displayed. Locate the Server you want to delete. Click on the Manage gear next to the Server and select Delete from the drop-down menu:
Note: The Snapshot Preview Server iconindicates that a Server is in Snapshot Preview mode. Follow the same procedure to delete a Snapshot Preview Server.
Important Note: If a Snapshot Preview Server fails to delete, you must open a ticket to have the failed server cleaned by support.
The Delete Server dialog will be displayed. Click Delete:
The system will display a message indicating that the Server is being deleted:
Note: If a Cloud Server still has resources enabled that will prevent the deletion from completing, the system will display an error detailing what needs to be removed before the deletion can take place:
The system will indicate that the operation is in progress in the Server bar:
Once complete, the system will display a success message:
The Cloud Server will be removed from the Server list:
NOTE: If there is a problem with the deletion (I.e. if the server does not delete), the error will appear in the Administrator Logs. For details, see How to View an Administrator Logs Report.
If the Cloud Server that is being deleted is the last object which is using an IP Address that is exclusively reserved, the IP Address will be automatically unreserved upon successful deletion of the Cloud Server.
For more information on Exclusively Reserved IP Addresses, see Introduction to IP Addressing in MCP 2.0
Please note: When servers are deleted, the data is rendered unrecoverable through ordinary means, but is not actively overwritten immediately. To actively overwrite the data before deletion, we recommend the use of appropriate tooling.
For additional information, please contact your country or regional representative.