Description

This article describes how to delete or remove a Client Image, or a Long-Term Retention Image.

Prerequisites:

  1. Only the Primary Administrator or a user with the Create Image role can delete a Client, or Long-Term Retention Image. 
  2. You must have previously created a Client Image, or Long-Term Retention Image. See:
  3. The Image must be in a Normal state
  4. The Data Center must not be in Maintenance

Content / Solution:

How to Delete a Client Image


  1. Click on the Compute button and select Images and Applications from the drop-down menu:


  2. The Images and Applications page will be displayed. Click on the Client Images button in the Image Type section:


  3. The Client Images page will be displayed. Click on the Image you want to delete from the populated list. Click on the Actions button and select Delete from the dropdown menu:


  4. The Delete Client Image dialog will be displayed. Click Delete:


  5. The system will display a message indicating that the operation is in progress:


  6. The UI will indicate that the Client Image is being deleted:


  7. The Client Image will be deleted and the UI will be updated to reflect the change:

    Note: In the highly unlikely event that the system cannot successfully delete the Client Image, the Image will remain in the view and the failure and reason will be logged in the Administrator Log. See How to View an Administrator Logs Report

How to Delete A Long-Term Retention Image

  1. Click on the Compute button and select Images and Applications from the drop-down menu:


  2. The Images and Applications page will be displayed. Click on the Long-Term Retention Snapshot Images button in the Image Type section:


  3. The Long-Term Retention Snapshot Images page will be displayed. Click on the Image you want to delete from the populated list. Click on the Actions button and select Delete from the drop-down menu:


  4. The Delete Long-Term Retention Snapshot Image dialog will be displayed. Click Delete:


  5. The system will display a message indicating that the operation is in progress:


  6. The UI will indicate that the Long-Term Retention Snapshot Image is being deleted:


  7. The Long-Term Retention Snapshot Image will be deleted and the UI will be updated to reflect the change:

    Note: In the highly unlikely event that the system cannot successfully delete the Long-Term Retention Image, the Image will remain in the view and the failure and reason will be logged in the Administrator Log. See How to View an Administrator Logs Report

  8. You can also delete a Long-Term Retention Image from the Snapshot Window of the Server Dashboard, by clicking on the Manage gear next to the Long-Term Retention Image and selecting Delete Long-Term Retention Image: