Description

Article outlines the notification procedures and policies regarding CloudControl software application maintenance events on the Cloud platform.

Content / Solution:

NOTE: This article applies only to Software Application Events. For information on Operational Maintenance events, see How are Operational Maintenance Events Performed on the Cloud. For information on Cloud Backup Maintenance events, see Cloud Backup - How Scheduled Maintenance is Performed.

Software Upgrade events affect the CloudControl software layer that provides the UI and API functionality and underlying orchestration of the Cloud. As each Geographic Region is supported by a common CloudControl software layer, the upgrade events will affect all data center locations in the affected Geographic Region. For more details on Geographic Regions, see Introduction to Geographic Regions.

These events normally occur Tuesdays or Thursdays, though we occasionally perform maintenance at the same time on other days. The timing of the window for these events varies depending on the Geographic Region. It remains at the same local time based on the Region's use of Daylight Savings Time, so the UTC times will vary during the year. The current schedule is:

  • North America: 05:00 AM Eastern Daylight / 2:00 AM Pacific Daylight (9:00 UTC)
  • Canada: 06:00 AM Eastern Daylight / 3:00 AM Pacific Daylight (10:00 UTC)
  • Australia: 09:00 PM Australia Eastern Standard (11:00 UTC)
  • Asia-Pacific: 09:00 PM Japan Standard Time (12:00 UTC)
  • Indonesia: 09:00 PM Western Indonesian Time (14:00 UTC)
  • Africa: 08:00 PM South Africa Standard Time (18:00 UTC)
  • Europe: 09:00 PM Central European Summer Time (19:00 UTC)
  • Israel: 11:00 PM Israel Summer Time (20:00 UTC)

There are three different types of Software Upgrade maintenance events that may occur and the expected notification window. Note the specific methodology for notifying customers of such events varies by Cloud provider.

Software Upgrades involve improvements made to the CloudControl application software. These events do not affect existing Cloud Servers and/or Cloud Network Domains. There are two types of events:

  • Upgrades to the UI affect only the availability of the UI in a specific Geographic Region for up to a maximum of 60 minutes while the software updates are installed. Such events do not affect availability of the API in the same Geographic region, nor do they affect the ability of the UI in other Geographic Regions to manage assets in the region where the UI is being upgraded.
  • Upgrades the API affect only the availability of the API in a specific Geographic Region for up to a maximum of 60 minutes while the software updates are installed. During API upgrades, all CloudControl functions will be unavailablefor all locations in the Geographic Region during the maintenance window. During such events, the UI will remain available in all regions and will display information about such events as described in How do I Identify if the System is in Maintenance in the UI and Cloud API.

In either case, advance notice of the Software Upgrade event will include a high-level view of the changes and the expected downtime. Such upgrades are designated as "feature releases" if they involve the introduction of multiple new features - the announcement will include links to the relevant documentation. They are designated as "minor" for smaller software patches with bug fixes or changes with limited visibility to users. The notice will include some details in either case.

Major Impact Software Upgrades occur very rarely. These events are defined as any software change that is expected to result in application downtime beyond the 60-minute software upgrade maintenance window. For major software upgrades, we will provide at least 2 weeks notice. We may perform the maintenance during off hours on the weekend in the local time of the data center to minimize any impact.
 

Major Application Maintenance Events occur very rarely. These events are defined as any change that results in downtime or has a significant impact to existing Cloud Network Domains or Cloud Servers. For major application maintenance, we will provide at least 2 weeks notice. We may perform the maintenance during off hours on the weekend in the local time of the data center to minimize any impact.

Emergency Software Maintenance is defined as an extraordinary event required to immediately address an issue that affects the security, availability, or critical functionality of the CloudControl software in at least one Geographic Region. Should such an event occur, we will attempt (if time allows) to provide some prior notice and a description of the issue and any impacts.